Merry Christmas…and Happy New Year!!

img_1a8b871df005-1

 

Knock. Knock. “Who’s there?”  Mary and Abby. “Mary and Abby who?”  Mary Christmas and Abby New Year!   On behalf of Eden and the entire Kim family, I want to wish you all a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year! May the joy of Jesus Christ who descended into a manger descend into your homes, families, friendships, gatherings, workplaces, neighborhoods and lives. May the One whose joy penetrated the messy brokenness of the world penetrate the realities of your heart. And may the Lord’s richest blessings rest on each of you in the coming year.

This year we have navigated many transitions as a family. We started three new schools — Elise in high school, Ana in middle school and Eden in elementary school. For the first time in fourteen years my wife has some breathing room at home as all the kids are at school during the day. This summer, we traveled to eat cow-head soup, meet cousins and explore Korea for Eunsil’s sister’s wedding. Professionally, I’m still learning to lead in our church, but I’m grateful to see how far we have come.

As a church, we have navigated many transitions.  A year ago our church had two names and was struggling to figure out how to merge our two churches. Since that time, we have become one church, building on the past as we move into the future. Our June annual meeting featured a momentous decision to close both churches to open Wellspring. Our October 2 Anniversary celebration commemorated  fifty years of Blanchard Wheaton, ten years of Blanchard Warrenville and five years of Living Water as we launched into our new beginning as Wellspring. We continue to navigate the transition of the neutral zone, but quietly, slowly yet surely the bonds of relationship are growing across the congregations.

I am grateful for how the Lord works through our weakness. Frequently I reach the end of my physical strength, and I often feel that the demands outstrip my natural abilities. Yet I also sense the distinctive empowering of the Holy Spirit through my weakness; His anointing is not because of me but is nonetheless through me. Whether in leadership meetings or from the pulpit, in personal or corporate prayer, the Spirit anoints me for the work that he wants to do through us. And all I can say is, “I am the Lord’s servant. Let it be to me according to your Word” (Luke 1:38). And I know that this is not only true of me, but it is also true of all of us. In this season, in this coming year, may we confess with Mary, “I am the Lord’s servant; let it be to me according to your Word.”

This entry was posted in Church, Family, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Merry Christmas…and Happy New Year!!

  1. Diane Morgan says:

    May God bless the Kim family in 2017. We are thankful to have you as our pastor and friend.
    We appreciate the way you unfold scripture and share Christs love for us.
    We will be praying for you this year. Promise.
    Fondly, Diane Morgan

    • Mitch Kim says:

      Thank you Diane. You and Ron are such a precious blessing for our entire church. Thank you for your prayer. May God richly bless you and your family in 2017 also!
      Mitch

Leave a Reply

