Wellspring Worship and The Gilmore Girls

By Reggie Ramos

A question that I’ve been pondering for the past year and a half while serving in worship at Wellspring has been “What is worship supposed to look like at Wellspring?” I still don’t know the full answer to that question, but part of the answer came from an unexpected place: The Gilmore Girls.

Now, if you’re unfamiliar with The Gilmore Girls, it was a television show about the relationship between a single mom and her daughter that ran for seven seasons from 2000-2007. And I have to confess, I am a fan. I’ve seen every episode. Multiple times.

For some of you, upon hearing that you’ve lost whatever respect you had for me, because there are not that many male fans of the show. But hear me out.

For the first five years of marriage, my wife and I did not have children, so during those early years, many of our quiet evenings at home were spent watching TV together. Sometimes I would choose, and sometimes she would choose. And at that time she really got into The Gilmore Girls. At first I didn’t get the show, and it became a divisive issue. But it was our time together. And out of my commitment to her, I would stay. And watch. And over the course of time, I found the characters growing on me. And I was seeing how clever the dialogue was. And I became a fan. But it started with my love for my wife.

Back to Wellspring worship. What direction are we going? We’re still seeking the Lord about that, as we reflect on bringing together the strengths of each legacy congregation with the fresh input God has brought to us through new people. But we have become such a diverse congregation culturally and generationally, that there are bound to be worship expressions or experiences that would be not your first choice. Rather than see that as a loss, could we, out of love for the other, see it as an opportunity to grow in an unexpected way?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wellspring Worship and The Gilmore Girls

  1. Pete Leonard says:

    Reggie, Good post.
    I’ve never seen Gilmore Girls and even after reading your note, and how much I like you, I still have no desire to subject myself to it. Thankfully my wife is not into that show either! Taken in context with everything else you and your wife do together, your watching that show with her is just one expression of your love for her. If that was all you did together however, I’ll be that she would question whether you really loved her at all.
    In the same way, if we continue to see our worship of God as only what happens during the singing / praise time on Sunday, or even what we do during the entirety of what is commonly called the ‘worship service’, I’m not sure that God would be convinced of our love for Him either.
    Although I am far from being an example of how this is proven, my thought is that true worship is ‘everything’ we do in every aspect of the lives God has given us. If we limit our use of the word ‘worship’ to what happens for an hour at Wellspring on Sunday, I think we may inadvertently and subconsciously reinforce the narrow view of what worship really is.
    There is some content and methodology that I prefer, and some that I don’t when it comes to what happens during ‘worship’ at Wellspring on Sunday. But when I see that hour is just one facet of the whole diamond that is worship can be, it makes it far easier for me to ‘go with the flow’ each week!

  2. Reggie Ramos says:

    Hi Pete! Funny…I’m sitting in Cafe On The Park as I read your comment and reply :). Anyway, thank you for the comment, because “inadvertent” would probably be an accurate representation of what’s going on in “limiting” the use of “worship” to the activities of our corporate gatherings.
    I totally agree with you on seeing Sunday as “one facet of the whole diamond” of what our worship is to our God, and would not want to elevate that hour above (and thereby diminish) other aspects of our worship to God.
    Furthermore, with this being my first written piece to the church, I acknowledge that I don’t have a public body of work to fall back on and claim, “Well, you know what I mean!”, so thanks for the “nudge” for precision and clarity!
    Peace!

  3. Steve strong says:

    Excellent!

Leave a Reply

